Computers, Programming, Technology, Music, Literature

re-enable hibernation after disc clean up – Windows Vista

leave a comment »

 

It so happens to be that I get BSOD once in a while. It’s been over two years and I have never reimaged my Vista installation. If I had to it would take a week for me to get things back on track. After the BSOD, the crash dump occupies at least 2 giga bytes of hard drive space and I have to run Disk clean up to clear some room.

Everytime I do a Disk Clean up, that’s it Hibernation gets turned off since the disk clean up deletes the hyberfil.sys file (of course I choose to delete the hibernation data). This is such an annoyance and I end up searched for that one line command to enable hibernation back.

 

powercfg –h on

 

run it on the command prompt.

Source – http://blogs.msdn.com/b/davbosch/archive/2007/04/28/re-enabling-hibernation-in-windows-vista-after-disk-cleanup.aspx

Written by gmaran23

March 28, 2013 at 8:32 pm

Leave a Reply

